Day 41: Waterline + Hotel Snap

I have been wanting to try Water Line by Desmos for almost a year. Today was finally the day!

I wasn’t quite sure how much I should pre-load students on graphing functions when going into this… So I didn’t give them any.

We went into the computer lab, I gave them directions how to access the activity and they worked….

For the entire period.

I used by iPad to monitor and help a few struggling students along the way.

IMG_0378

But, as the day progressed that happened less and less. I found that the students who were plotting points or had holes in the graph were self correcting. Once they were able to create their own vase and solve others, a majority of the misconceptions and struggles had been sorted out.

By the way… Desmos has an awesome dashboard when you can follow students through the learning process.

IMG_0376

Today I was less helpful than most days, which was uncomfortable. There were a few students off task here and there but for the most part all students were engaged. In my opinion it is incredibly important to have days like this; where the teacher steps back and just lets things happen. I am by no means leaving students at this place and moving forward, but allowing students to begin the learning process and come up with their own questions without the direction of a teacher is awesome.

Tomorrow I am bringing up the cupboard for each class and we will discuss difficulties and answer questions, then move onto Dan’s Graphing Stories.

In Geometry students started Fawn’s Hotel Snap. I have no real reason for the timing of this activity (we are in the middle of parallel/perpendicular lines) but I wanted to try it!

I am really interested in how student’s hotels will pan out, every design is different.

IMG_0392

IMG_0389

IMG_0387

IMG_0385

IMG_0384

The discussions among students were great and they seemed to all be happy with their final designs. More on this tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

