Day 56: The Fence Problem

My Geometry students lost it today over this problem.

I gave it to them and asked that they work quietly on it for 10 minutes. The automatically went for rulers and protractors. A lot of them came up with some pretty cool solutions for the drawing provided.

Then I told them it wasn’t drawn to scale.

They still have a rough time going from actual numbers to variables to represent all different cases. The most popular solution was to cut the land in half because it looked like all the little pieces would add up. When I asked them to prove to me that the areas were they same they ran into some big problems.

I ended the day by throwing them a lifeline which I have mixed feelings about.

Day56

For most of them, this is the first time they have ever come out of a math class with little to no progress on a problem. This is good. Struggle is good.

Tomorrow we are going to start class with this

Day56.1

I am excited to see how this goes!

Day two can be found here.

One thought on “Day 56: The Fence Problem

  1. Pingback: Day 57: Fence Problem Part II | Quadrant Dan

Leave a Reply

