Day 117: Estimates

Algebra is working on classifying polynomials. Today students dove into a note taking guide. This is the only one I will give all year. I am not quite sure how to approach this topic other than direct instruction. So… instead of lecturing at them I wanted to try having them read the book. It went okay.

I am excited about a sort of gallery walk activity that should go down tomorrow with classifying.

Today I opened all my algebra classes with this

Estimate

I love all the estimates over at Estimation180, however, these are at the top of my list.

Anytime I have high and low students engaged in a mathematical discussion is a win. I all students were into it for about 15 minutes at the start of the period today.

If you haven’t tried this set of estimates with your class…. You should.

Leave a Reply

