Day 173: Staggered Starts

In high school, I ran the 1600 and 3200 meter races. In one particular 3200m there were over 50 runners on the track. I was placed in an alley made up of lanes 9 and 10 and was out in the middle of nowhere, already halfway around the curve. We cut in at half a lap, it seemed like I was way ahead but ended up landing in the middle of the pack.

Here is what geometry looked at today:

*I mashed together a few problems/resources to put together this problem: 1        2        3

TrackThe first question I asked students was “If all the runners started at the same place, how much more distance would the runner in the 8th lane cover compared to the 1st lane runner?”

We put a few guesses on the board then they asked for some info, I ended up giving ’em this:

Track2The surprising piece is the straights of the track aren’t 100 meters… I think there is the possibility of an awesome problem within that piece of information that would really get students thinking (maybe designing a track or something). Not quire sure how to approach it though.

They went on their way, after a few minutes I introduced some structure.

Track3

They finished the table then I asked ’em to make it fair and on a picture of a track, find where the staggered starts should be so every runner ran exactly 400 meters. I lost a few of the students at this point, they were pretty stubborn in moving forward. so the problem just hung loose at this point for the rest of the period. When I try it again next year, I might stretch the thing into a period and a half or so.

One thought on “Day 173: Staggered Starts

  1. Britt

    Dan! I was just reading Easing the Hurry and saw it pinged back to you. I love that it’s a small world on the interwebs. Hope you’re having a good spring 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

